January 23, 2001

This just in…

Burt Bacharach Announced as Winner of Prestigious International Polar Music Prize for 2001 Los Angeles, CA., Burt Bacharach was announced today as one of three winners of the prestigious Polar Music Prize, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music Award for 2001, at the MIDEM music fair in Cannes, France. Leading industry executive Les Bider, CEO Warner Chappell (the world?s largest music publisher) and international artist Meja (All About The Money, Private Emotions duo with Ricky Martin, and one of the biggest acts in Japan), hosted the event and announced the Prize-winners. Bacharach was present for the announcement via webcast this morning at the residence of the Consulate General of Sweden in Santa Monica. Burt Bacharach, Robert Moog and Karlheinz Stockhausen will receive the prize in Stockholm on Monday, May 14 from His Majesty King Carl Gustaf XVI of Sweden. Crown Princess Victoria will join her father for the first time at the Polar Music Prize Award Ceremony. Past Prize-winners have been: Paul McCartney, Dizzy Gillespie, Witold Lutoslawski, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Quincy Jones, Mstislav Rostropovitch, Elton John, Joni Mitchell, Pierre Boulez, Bruce Springsteen, Eric Ericson, Ray Charles, Ravi Shankar, Iannis Xenakis, Stevie Wonder, Bob Dylan and Isaac Stern.

Burt Bacharach Citation
The Polar Music Prize for 2001 is being awarded to the American composer, arranger, record producer and pianist, Burt Bacharach, one of the primary architects of contemporary music. Bacharach has been a principal player on the international music scene since his debut in the late 1950’s, producing a host of timeless classics stemming from his infallible feeling for powerful, memorable and unmistakably personal melodies and for brilliantly designed harmony.

Robert Moog Citation
Robert Moog is being awarded the Polar Music Prize for 2001 for his design of the MiniMoog, the first compact, easy-to-use synthesizer, which paved the way to the realm of electronic sounds that has revolutionized all genres of music during the past half-century.

Karlheinz Stockhausen Citation Karlheinz Stockhausen is being awarded the Polar Music Prize for 2001 for a career as a composer that has been characterized by impeccable integrity and never-ceasing creativity, and for having stood at the forefront of musical development for fifty years. Performances at today?s event in Cannes were given by Lisa Miskovsky – a Max Martin prot?g? and co-writer of the Backstreet Boys latest hit, Shape of My Heart; Kelly Levesque – a new Reprise (Warner) label signing, and Laura Pausini – who, following tremendous success in her home-country Italy and in Latin-speaking countries, is poised to become known as a major artist worldwide.

The Polar Music Prize was founded in 1989 by Stig Anderson – a true music industry great – who played a key role in the enormous success of ABBA. The Prize has been awarded since 1992 for exceptional and lifetime achievements, transcending musical genres and breaking down musical boundaries.

For further information about the Polar Music Prize and more comprehensive citations on the Prizewinners please e-mail info@polarmusicprize.com